EGU Special Session I - Arctic observations: data collection, management, and user engagement


The first of two INTAROS special sessions at EGU 2020 will take place on Thursday 7th May.


GI4.5 - Arctic observations: data collection, management, and user engagement, Convener: Stein Sandven (INTAROS) | Co-conveners: Øystein Godoy, Torill Hamre (INTAROS), William F. Manley, Roberta Pirazzini (INTAROS). Chat Thurs 7 May 14H00-15H45;


This year the conference will be an online event, Sharing Geosciences Online, and anyone can join. Many of the authors contributing to the session will be online, available for live chat about their research.


This session will have 17 contributions, half of them with INTAROS participation. Here is a full list, all of which can be accessed online:


Displays | Chat Thu, 07 May, 14:00–15:45


GI4.5 | Arctic observations: data collection, management, and user engagement .
Convener: Stein Sandven | Co-conveners: Øystein Godoy, Torill Hamre, William F. Manley, Roberta Pirazzini.

D740 | EGU2020-22498 | Highlight
Developments in Polar Data Management 2006 – 2019 and Beyond: standardization and community-building in support of enhanced interoperability. 
Peter L. Pulsifer, Sandra McCubbin, Stein Sandven, and Mark A. Parsons


D741 | EGU2020-22420  Highlight
A Roadmap for Arctic Observing and Data Systems
Jan Rene Larsen and Sandy Starkweather.

D742 | EGU2020-20091 
INTAROS synthesis of gap analysis of the existing Arctic observing systems
Roberta Pirazzini, Michael Tjernström, Stein Sandven, Hanne Sagen, Torill Hamre, Carsten Ludwigsen, Agnieszka Beszczynska-Möller, David Gustafsson, Georg Heygster, Mikael Sejr, Andreas Ahlstrøm, Francisco Navarro, Mathias Goeckede, Donatella Zona, Erik Buch, Mathilde Sorensen, and Thomas Soltwedel. 

D743 | EGU2020-20559  Highlight
Mapping Arctic Observing Systems and In Situ Data Collections
Torill Hamre, Frode Monsen, Hanne Sagen, Tor I. Olaussen, Florian Geyer, and Roberta Pirazzini.

D744 | EGU2020-22212
INTAROS joint assessment of scientific and community-based observation programs  
Finn Danielsen, Roberta Pirazzini, Hajo Eicken, Maryann Fidel, Lisbeth Iversen, Noor Johnson, Olivia Lee, Michael K. Poulsen, Peter L. Pulsifer, Hanne Sagen, and Stein Sandven.

D745 | EGU2020-22199
The Norwegian Scientific Data Network, a distributed electronic research infrastructure
Øystein Godoy, Torill Hamre, Stein Tronstad, Markus Fiebig, Helge Sagen, and Lara Ferrighi. 

D746 | EGU2020-22427
The Observation Facility Catalogue – an overview of the SIOS research infrastructure on Svalbard
dariusz ignatiuk, Inger Jennings, Lara Ferrigni, Øystein Godøy, Shridhar Jawak, Heikki Lihavainen, Bo Andersen, and Christiane Hübner.

D747 | EGU2020-7126| Highlight
Extending the Ice Watch system as a citizen science project for the collection of In-Situ sea ice observations
Ole Jakob Hegelund, Alistair Everett, Ted Cheeseman, Penelope Wagner, Nick Hughes, Marcin Pierechod, Ken Southerland, Philip Robinson, Jennifer Hutchings, Åshild Kiærbech, and Joakim Lillehaug Pedersen.

D748 | EGU2020-20347
Implementation of a multipurpose Arctic Ocean Observing System
Stein Sandven, Hanne Sagen, Agnieszka Beszczynska-Möller, Peter Vo, Marie-Noelle Houssais, Mathilde Sørensen, Mikael Kristian Sejr, Matthew Dzieciuch, Peter Worcester, Espen Storheim, Florian Geyer, and Bjørn Rønning.

D749 | EGU2020-22171
Winter Arctic sea ice bottom evolution detected by thermistor string-based ice mass balance buoys (SIMBA)
Bin Cheng, Timo Vihma, Zeling Liao, Ruibo Lei, Mario Hoppmann, Yubao Qiu, Roberta Pirazzini, and Stein Sandven.

D750 | EGU2020-5077
Sea level in Thule measured with tide gauge, GNSS-IR and Satellite Altimetry
Trine S. Dahl-Jensen, Shfaqat Abbas Khan, Simon D.P. Williams, Ole B. Andersen, and Carsten A. Ludwigsen.

D751 | EGU2020-8496
Stable water isotope observations during INTAROS cruises North of Svalbard: links to atmospheric circulation and sea ice processes
Alexandra Touzeau, Harald Sodemann, Hanne Sagen, Mats Anders Granskog, Bonnie Raffel, Nicholas Roden, Espen Storheim, Tor Einar de Lange, Yi-Chun Chen, and Håkon Sandven.

D752 | EGU2020-22424
The INGV Arctic Ionospheric data management system and its synergy with the Italian NADC
Emanuele Pica, Vincenzo Romano, Carlo Marcocci, Claudio Cesaroni, and Ingrid Hunstad.

D753 | EGU2020-9543 | Highlight
Data collections of ESA DUE GlobPermafrost and ESA CCI+ Permafrost
Annett Bartsch and the ESA DUE GlobPermafrost and ESA CCI+ Permafrost Teams.

D754 | EGU2020-13842
Integrating and assessing Arctic glacier thickness data into Glacier Thickness Database (GlaThiDa) Version 3.0
Ethan Welty, Francisco Navarro, Johannes Fürst, Isabelle Gärtner-Roer, Kathrin Naegeli, Johannes Landmann, Matthias Huss, Thomas Knecht, Horst Machguth, and Michael Zemp.


05 May 2020