Second Arctic Science Ministerial Meeting Outcomes


Recognising the importance of the Arctic region in witnessing and understanding climate change in action, and in an effort to improve international cooperation in this remote area, the First Arctic Science Ministerial (ASM1) was held in Washington DC, USA in September 2016. Science Ministers from 25 governments, the European Union and representatives from Arctic indigenous peoples’ organizations gathered to discuss increased international collaboration on Arctic science. The outcome of the meeting, including the release of a Joint Statement of Ministers, was published in the “Supporting Arctic Science” document.


In a follow-on from this iconic political commitment, the Second Arctic Science Ministerial Meeting (ASM2) was held in Berlin, Germany, 25 - 26 October 2018, once again putting the spotlight on the Arctic as a reference point for global climate change and climate prediction. During this meeting, the internationally community reiterated its will to committed collaboration in Arctic research to better support climate-related decisions and to better help Arctic communities deal with the rapidly changing climatic conditions in the far north.


Twenty-six governments from the following countries came together to release the Joint Statement of Ministers, with representation from the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Denmark, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greenland, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Sweden, Singapore, Switzerland, Spain, United States, and the European Commission.


Apart from governmental officials, the indigenous people of the Arctic were represented by the following civil society organisations Aleut International Association, Arctic Athabaskan Council, Gwich’in Council International, Inuit Circumpolar Council, Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North and Saami Council.


Representatives from the following international organizations were also present: Association of Polar Early Career Scientists, Group on Earth Observations, International Arctic Science Committee, International Arctic Social Sciences Association, Sustaining Arctic Observing Networks, International Council for the Exploration of the Sea, University of the Arctic, UN Environment and World Meteorological Organization.


Several members of the INTAROS consortium participated in the ASM2 and underscored their commitment to improving Arctic Science through a jointly signed Letter to the Ministers attending ASMI2.



The results of the meeting are provided in the Second Arctic Science Ministerial report and in the Joint Statement of the Ministers, declaring the need for intensifying international cooperation in Arctic research.


The next Arctic Science Ministerial Meeting (ASM3) is scheduled to take place in 2020 and will be  held in Japan and co-hosted by Iceland.

25 March 2019